HARDIN COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS MINUTES – JUNE 26, 2023 MONDAY – 9:00 A.M. HARDIN COUNTY COURTHOUSE LARGE CONFERENCE ROOM

The Hardin County Board of Supervisors held their regular meeting at 9:00 AM on June 26, 2023, at the Hardin County Courthouse large conference room in Eldora, Iowa.

Board members in attendance were BJ Hoffman, Lance Granzow, and Renee McClellan.

Hoffman moved and McClellan seconded to approve the agenda striking the consideration to approve the Economic Development Contract from the agenda. All Ayes. Motion passed.

McClellan moved and Hoffman seconded to approve the minutes of June 19, 2023. All Ayes. Motion passed.

McClellan moved and Hoffman seconded the motion to approve the claims for payment for June 26, 2023. All Ayes. Motion passed.

McClellan moved and Hoffman seconded the motion to approve the Collective Bargaining Agreement Between Hardin County-Sheriff's Deputies and AFSCME-AFL-CIO, Local 1367. Roll Call Vote: "Ayes" Granzow, McClellan, Hoffman. "Nays" None. Absent: None. Motion passed.

Hoffman moved and McClellan seconded the motion to approve Resolution 2023-21 Advance Issuance of Payments 2023/2024 Fiscal Year. All Ayes. Motion passed. Roll Call Vote: "Ayes" Granzow, McClellan, Hoffman. "Nays" None. Absent: None. Motion passed. Resolution 2023-21 is hereby adopted as follows:

RESOLUTION NO. 2023-21

ADVANCE ISSUANCE OF PAYMENTS RESOLUTION 2023/2024 FISCAL YEAR

Resolved pursuant to Section 331.506 (3)(a and b), Code of Iowa, the County Auditor is authorized to issue payments for certain expenses when said Board is not in session during Fiscal Year 2023/2024 but shall be submitted to the board for review and approval at its next meeting following the payment. Passed and approved this 26th day of June 2023. The full text of the resolution is available at the Office of the Hardin County Auditor.

McClellan moved and Hoffman seconded the motion to approve Resolution 2023-22 Appropriations Resolution 2023/2024 Fiscal Year. All Ayes. Motion passed. Roll Call Vote: "Ayes" Granzow, McClellan, Hoffman. "Nays" None. Absent: None. Motion passed. Resolution 2023-22 is hereby adopted as follows:

RESOLUTION NO. 2023-22

APPROPRIATIONS RESOLUTION 2023/2024 FISCAL YEAR

Resolution pursuant 331.434 and 331.437 of the Code establishing amounts itemized by fund and by department or office on the attached schedule totaling \$33,744.089, and authorizing the department or officer listed to make expenditures or incur obligations and directing the Auditor to ascertain available resources and immediately inform the Board and establish separate accounts for the appropriations and report the status of such accounts to applicable departments and officers monthly during the 2023/2024 budget year. Passed and approved this 26th day of June 2023. The full text of the resolution is available at the Office of the Hardin County Auditor.

McClellan moved and Hoffman seconded the motion to approve Resolution 2023-23 Resolution for Inter-Fund Operating Transfers 2023/2024 Fiscal Year. All Ayes. Motion passed. Roll Call Vote: "Ayes" Granzow, McClellan, Hoffman. "Nays" None. Absent: None. Motion passed. Resolution 2023-23 is hereby adopted as follows:

RESOLUTION NO. 2023 - 23

RESOLUTION FOR INTER-FUND OPERATING TRANSFERS 2023/2024 FISCAL YEAR

Resolution authorizing the Auditor to periodically transfer limited sums from the General Basic Fund to the Capital Projects Fund and Secondary Road Fund; and from the Rural Services Basic Fund to the Secondary Road Fund during the 2023/2024 fiscal budget year; and directing the Auditor to correct her books when said operating transfers are made and to notify the Treasurer and County Engineer of the amounts of said transfers. Passed and approved this 26th day of June 2023. The full text of the resolution is available at the Office of the Hardin County Auditor.

Hoffman moved and McClellan seconded the motion to approve Resolution 2023-24 City of Iowa Falls Code 657B-Banner 320 Talbott. All Ayes. Motion passed. Roll Call Vote: "Ayes" Granzow, McClellan, Hoffman. "Nays" None. Absent: None. Motion passed. Resolution 2023-24 is hereby adopted as follows:

RESOLUTION: 2023-24

TAX ABATEMENT

Resolution abating listed net taxes, special assessments, all interest, fees, and costs and cancel the tax sale certificate #210072, on property now owned by the City of Iowa Falls, locally known as 320 Talbott, City of Iowa Falls, Parcel number 892018306002 for tax years 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2022. Passed and approved this 26th day of June 2023. The full text of the resolution is available at the Office of the Hardin County Auditor.

Hoffman moved and McClellan seconded the motion to approve the fireworks application from JJ Veld. All Ayes. Motion passed.

Hoffman moved and McClellan seconded the motion to approve cancelling the Board of Supervisors meeting for Monday, July 3rd, 2023. All Ayes. Motion passed.

Hoffman moved and McClellan seconded the motion to approve scheduling a Board of Supervisors meeting for Thursday, June 29th, 2023 at 9:00 a.m. All Ayes. Motion passed.

McClellan moved and Hoffman seconded the motion to approve the change of status in the Treasurer's office for the hiring of Melissa Harvey as a Motor Vehicle and Driver's License Clerk. All Ayes. Motion passed.

Other business: Supervisor Hoffman gave an update on the YSS Ember Project in the Cambridge, Iowa area, a 70-bed Youth Crisis Center.

Public Comments: Mark Buschkamp gave an update on Economic Development.

McClellan moved and Hoffman seconded the motion to adjourn the meeting. All Ayes. Motion passed. The meeting was adjourned at 9:12 a.m.

At 9:30 a.m. the Supervisors held a work session to discuss possible office reassignments in the courthouse. Board members attending were BJ Hoffman, Lance Granzow, and Renee McClellan. Also attending Matt Jones, Machel Eichmeier, Lori Kadner, Dave Corcoran, and Jolene Pieters. Hoffman moved and McClellan seconded the motion to adjourn the meeting. All Ayes. Motion passed. The meeting was adjourned at 10:40 a.m.

At 10:54 a.m. the Supervisors attended a Hazard Mitigation Strategies Workshop at the EOC Building. Board members attending were BJ Hoffman, Lance Granzow, and Renee McClellan. Also attending were Matt Jones, Michael Pearce, and Jolene Pieters. Hoffman moved and McClellan seconded the motion to adjourn the meeting. All Ayes. Motion passed. The meeting was adjourned at 12:24 p.m.

/s/ Lance Granzow Lance Granzow, Chair or Vice-Chair Board of Supervisors /s/ Jolene Pieters
Jolene Pieters
Hardin County Auditor